



Social Transformation & the Rights-Based Laws

CHAVARA 'EXCELLENCE FOR SOCIAL TRANSFORMATION'

LECTURE SERIES

Chavara Excellence for Social Transformation Webinar 2021 Hosted by Sacred Heart College, Thevara

https://sacredheartcollege.webex.com/sacredheartcollege/j. php?MTID=mfcaee832297784e48b1f8820713857aa

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2021 11:00 am | 3 hours | (UTC+05:30) Meeting number: 2514 086 9288 Password: transform

Short URL - <u>https://qrgo.page.link/p4272</u>







September 2021 11:30 AM, Tuesday

PROGRAMME

Chavara 'Excellence for Social Transformation' Lecture series: 2021 Tuesday, September 14, 2021

Social Transformation and the Rights-based Laws

By

Ramon Magsaysay Award Winner Smt. Aruna Roy

Programme

- 11.30 AM College Anthem, Chavara Recital
- 11.35 AM *Welcome* **Rev. Dr. Jose John**, Principal
- 11.40 AM Presidential Address

Rev. Fr. Poulose Kidangen (Manager, S.H. Institutions, Thevara)

11.50 AM Felicitation

Rev. Fr. Benny Nalkkara (Provincial, S.H. Province, Kochi)

12.00 PM Introducing the Speaker

Dr. C S Francis (Vice Principal, East Campus)

- 12.05 PM Chavara 'Excellence of Social Transformation' Lecture

	Smt. Aruna Roy
01.15 PM	Open Floor
	Vote of Thanks
01.30 PM	Dr. Siby Abraham (Staff Secretary

Aruna Roy

Aruna Roy is one of India's most prominent social activists. She served as a civil servant in the Indian Administrative Service and quit her job in 1974 to join Social Work and Research Centre (SWRC). She founded the Mazdoor Kisan Shakti Sangathan (MKSS), a social and grassroots organization for the empowerment of workers and peasants. She worked as a member of India's National Advisory Council from 2004-06 and 2010-13. As a member of the Council, she played a crucial role in passing national legislations for the Right to Information and the Right to Employment Law (MGNREGA). She is currently the President of the National Federation of Indian Women (NFIW). She has been involved with the campaign for universal, non-contributory pension for unorganised sector workers as a member of the Pension Parishad and NCPRI for the passage and enactment of the Whistle blower Protection Law and Grievance Redress Act. She was awarded the prestigious **Ramon Magsaysay Award** for Community Leadership in 2000. She was also awarded Nani Palkiwala Award and



Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award for Excellence in Public

Administration, Academia and Management in 2010. She was listed

as one of the 100 most influential people in the world by the TIME

Magazine in 2011.