DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMICS

SACRED HEART COLLEGE, THEVARA (AUTONOMOUS)

Minutes of Meeting of Board of Studies for Economics held on 27th August 2014

The first meeting of Board of Studies for Economics of the academic year 2014-15 was held on 27th August 2014 at 1.30 pm in the Economics Department.

The following members were present in the meeting.

- 1. Dr. Cherian P. E.
- 2. Siby Abraham
- 3. Dr. Sibi Zacharias
- 4. Agile Joy
- 5. Madhusudhanan Nair M. S.
- 6. Vinil K. V.

The meeting started with a silent prayer. The college council held on 21.08.2014 suggested that the Chairman shall convene a meeting of Board of Studies in Economics before 19th September 2014. Accordingly, the first meeting was convened on 27th August 2014.

The following points were discussed and decisions were taken.

- The meeting discussed and approved the M. G. University syllabus for UG and PG courses in Economics for UG batch of 2014-2017 and for PG batch of 2014-16.
- The meeting decided to introduce "Basic Econometrics" in MA Economics Programme
 as a core course in the third Semester replacing the existing core paper "Economics
 of Environment and Social Sector" for admissions from 2015-16.
- It is decided to revise partially the existing syllabus of courses in UG and PG
 programmes in Economics. The meeting constituted sub committees comprising of the
 existing teachers of Economics Department to revise each course in UG and PG
 programmes in Economics for admissions form 2015-16.

- 4. The meeting decided to introduce CBSS for UG and elective system for PG
- 5. It was decided to incorporate cross cutting issues like Gender issues, environmental issues, sustainability, human values and professional ethics in the curriculum.
- It was decided to make the syllabus more oriented towards fostering skills for career ventures and employability.

The Sub committees are as follows:

- B A Economics Programme
- Sub Committees for Course Revision

First BA Economics
(1st & 2nd Semesters)

- S1 Methodology of Social Science with Special Reference to Economics (Core 1)
- S2 Development Environmental Economics (Core 2)

Prof. Agile Joy - Chairman

Prof. Siby Abraham

Second BA Economics (3rd & 4th Semesters)

Principles of Micro Economics (Core 3)
 Prof. Vinil K. V. - Chairman
 Dr. Cherian P. E.

Prof. Madhusudanan Nair M. S.

S3 - Modern Banking (Core 4)
Prof. Madhusudanan Nair M. S. (Chairman)
Dr. Raju K. V.
Dr. Jose V. T.

4

S4 - Microeconomic Analysis (Core 5)

Prof. Vinil K. V. (Chairman)

Dr. Cherian P. E.

Prof. Madhusudanan Nair M. S.

S4 - Public Economics (Core 6)

Prof. Madhusudanan Nair M. S. (Chairman)

Dr. Raju K. V.

Dr. Jose V. T.

Third BA Economics

(5th & 6th Semesters)

S5 - Quantitative Techniques for Economic Analysis (Core 7)

Dr. Raju K. V. (Chairman)

Prof. Agile Joy

S5 - Principles of Macro Economics (Core 8)

Dr. Jose V. T. (Chairman)

Dr. Raju K. V.

S5 - Indian Economy (Core 9)

Prof. Siby Abraham (Chairman)

Prof. Cherian P. E.

Prof. Vinil K. V.

S5 - Open Course

Prof. Madhusudanan Nair M. S. (Chairman)

Prof. Vinil K. V.

S5 - Economics of Financial Markets (Core 10)

Dr. Cherian P. E.

Prof. Vinil K. V.

S6 - Quantitative Economics (Core 11)

Dr. Raju K. V. (Chairman)

Prof. Agile Joy

S6 - Macroeconomic Analysis (Core 12)

Dr. Jose V. T. (Chairman)

Dr. Raju K. V.

S6 - Development Issues of the Indian Economy (Core 13)

Prof. Siby Abraham (Chairman)

Dr. Cherian P. E.

Prof. Vinil K. V.

S6 - Human Resource Management (Choice Based Course) (Core 14)

Prof. Siby Abraham (Chairman)

Dr. Jose V. T.

S6 - International Economics (Core 15)

Prof. Madhusudanan Nair M. S. (Chairman)

Dr. Jose V. T.

MA Economics Programme

Sub Committees for Course Revision

First MA Economics

(1st & 2nd Semesters)

- S1 Micro Economics Theory of Consumer Behaviour and Firm
- S2 Micro Economics Markets, Information and Welfare

Dr. Cherian P. E. (Chairman)

Prof. Agile Joy

- S1 Macroeconomic Theory and Policy
- S2 Advanced Macro Economic Theory and Policy
 Dr. Raju K. V. (Chairman)
 Dr. Jose V. T.
- S1 Indian Economy: Issues and Policies -I
- S2 Indian Economy: Issues and Policies -II

 Dr. Raju K. V. (Chairman)

 Prof. Agile Joy

 Prof. Vinil K. V.
- S1 Economics of Development & Growth -I
- S2 Economics of Development & Growth -II
 Prof. Siby Abraham (Chairman)
 Prof. Vinil K. V.
- S1 Quantitative Methods for Economic Analysis -I
- S2 Quantitative Methods for Economic Analysis -II
 Dr. Cyriac Antony (Chairman)
 Dr. Raju K. V.

Second MA Economics (3rd & 4th Semesters)

- S3 International Trade Theory & Policy
- S4 Global Trading & Monetary System
 Prof. Madhusudanan Nair M. S. (Chairman)
 Prof. Jose V. T.
- S3 Public Economics
- S4 Indian Public Finance

 Dr. Raju K. V. (Chairman)

 Prof. Agile Joy

S3 - Basic Econometrics

Dr. Raju K. V. (Chairman)

Dr. Cyriac Antony

S3 - Research Methods in Economics

Dr. Jose V. T. (Chairman)

Dr. Raju K. V.

S3 - Monetary Theory and Policy (Optional Paper)

Dr. Cherian P. E. (Chairman)

Dr. Jose V. T.

S4 - Fundamentals of Environmental Economics (Optional)

Dr. Cherian P. E. (Chairman)

Dr. Siby Abraham

Dr. Jose V. T.

S4 - Co-operation and Rural Development

Dr. Jose V. T. (Chairman)

S4 - Capital Markets

Prof. Siby Abraham (Chairman)

Prof. Agile Joy

- 7. The Chairman of BOS informed the meeting that the panel of question paper setters is to be prepared for each course in UG & PG programmes for the academic year 2014-15 in consultation with two senior most faculty of the department. The panel will remain strictly confidential.
- The Meeting decided to recommend to the Academic Council and to the Principal that
 the following persons be nominated to the BOS for Economics from outside the
 college.

Two Subject Expert to the BOS from outside college.

- a) Dr. S. Hari Kumar
 Professor, Dept. Of Applied Economics, Cochin University of Science and Technology.
- b) Dr. Beena P. L.
 Associate Professor of Economics Centre for Development Studies, Trivandrum.

One Expert from Industry/Corporate Sector.

Mr. Alex K. Babu

Chairman and Managing Director of Hedge Group of Companies (Hedge Equities)

One Meritorious Alumnus with P. G.

Dr. Sunil Menon, HOD, Dept. Of Economics, Maharaja's College, Ekm.

The Meeting ended at 3.20 pm.

Chairman

Board of Studies for Economics

Dr. Cherian P. E. HOD Dept. Of Economics

Dr. Johnson X Palackapp.....

Sacred Proces

T