## National Science Day Celebrations - Bodhi 2015 (25/02/2015)

The National Science Day celebrations kick started with the inaugural function on 25<sup>th</sup> of February conducted at the college auditorium. The chief guest of the day was Prof. Dr. Rani Joseph, Professor Emeritus, Department of Polymer Science and Rubber Technology, Cochin University of Science And Technology. The inaugural function was presided over by Rev. Fr. Jose Kuriedath CMI, manager Sacred Heart College Thevara. The inaugural function started at 9:00 am. 50 students accompanied by their teachers from 5 different school namely Sacred Heart high school Thevara, T.D high School Mattancherry, CCPLM high school Perumanoor, St. Thomas girl's high school Perumanoor attended the function. Dr. Joseph John, Head of the Department of Chemistry welcomed the gathering and the chief guest of the day Prof. Dr. Rani Joseph inaugurated Bodhi 2015 by performing an exciting experiment and her inaugural address inspired the audience tremendously .The inaugural function ended with the words of gratitude by Mr. Midhun Dominic CD, the programme coordinator.

The technical session of Bodhi 2015 started with the invited talk by Dr. Rani Joseph on the topic "science for nation building." The talk was very informative and was very lightly explained so that the school students easily grasped the ideas. The students came up with interesting doubts and questions and the professor was very enthusiastic in clearing them. The invited talk was followed by the launch of the Chemistry Awareness Programme (CAP). This marked the end of the morning session and the group was adjourned for lunch. The guests were served sumptuous nadan Kerala sadhya.

The afternoon session witnessed "The Magic of Chemistry " programme, in which around 26 simple yet strikingly curious chemistry experiments were demonstrated. The experiments were arranged in the two post graduate chemistry labs of the college and the students were divided into groups of five. The experiments were arranged and managed with the help of final year post graduate students of Sacred Heart College. These experiments were based on simple chemistry and the student community received it with awe. Each experiment was explained very vividly which made them understand that the magic of chemistry was rather explanatory and the science behind these magic acts were simple. The experiments were demonstrated to each group of students and the facts were explained to them with the help of chart papers and powerpoint presentations so that the students can easily read it out. The students were very curious and were writing down every possible detail of each of the experiments. They were very lavish in asking questions and their curious budding minds were filled with infectious energy. Almost all experiments ignited their scientific temper and they were easily taken to the magic world of chemistry. This was clearly reflected in their feedback forms written at the end of the day which were filled with enthusiastic and heart filled comments and suggestions.

The day's programme came to an end with the valedictory function which was presided over by Dr. Joseph John, Head of the Department of chemistry. Students and teachers shared their experiences and suggested their willingness to participate in the future years. Refreshments were served at the end.

National Science Day celebrations continued to 28<sup>th</sup> of February, when a chemistry quiz was conducted for the college students. Various graduate and postgraduate students from 14 different colleges participated in the intercollegiate quiz competition. Thus 14 different teams each consisting of two members participated in the preliminary round, which consisted of a written test. Four teams each from K E College Mannanam, Devamatha College Kuravilangad, Sacred Heart College Thevara and CMS College Kottayam were selected for the final round. Assistant professor Mr. Midhun Dominic C.D was the quiz master and assistant professor Dr Ramakrishnan was the scorer. The final round consisted of 4 sections. At the end of the quiz, Mr Akash Chacko and Mr Jibin K.P of K.E College Mannanam was declared as the winner, Ms. Ashita Tom and Ms. Simjamol A.C of SH college bagged second prize and Mr Alan Jose and Robin John of Devamatha College was adjusted the 2<sup>nd</sup> runner up and the consolation prize was given to Ms. Athira Chandran and Mr. Ashish John of CMS College. Cash prizes, certificates and medals were distributed to the winners by Dr Joseph John, head of the Department of Chemistry. Lunch was arranged for the participants.







## Brochure



		List of Pa	rticipants	
		Department of	of Chemistry	
		25-28.2	the state of the	
		Name of the Con	the same section have been derived assess to the other state and the same state of the same state of the	
		Name of the Programme:		ns
SL. No.	Register Number	Name of the Student	Class/Stream	Attendance
1	4546	DEVIKA S. MOHAN	BSc Chemistry	1/
2	4537	FABIN FAUSTA AUREO	BSc Chemistry	
3			BSc Chemistry	
	4519	LEONA ANGELA MORRIS		N
4	4539	ANETT ANTONY	BSc Chemistry	6
5	4532	ANJIMA JAMES	BSc Chemistry	6
6	4553	ARYA ANILKUMAR	BSc Chemistry	4
7	4530	BASIMA ZIYANA A S	BSc Chemistry	
8	4515	DEVI PRIYA S. BABU	BSc Chemistry	c
9	4544	GIGI VARGHESE P.	BSc Chemistry	
10	4547	HARITHA V. MENON	BSc Chemistry	
11	4549	KEERTHANA RAJEEV	BSc Chemistry	
12	4510	MOHIT MOHAN	BSc Chemistry	
13	4523	NEETHU P.D.	BSc Chemistry	ABSENT
14	4528	NOORJAHAN M.M.	BSc Chemistry	e
15	4558	SAJITH A.S.	BSc Chemistry	
16	4502	SARATH KUMAR T.M.	BSc Chemistry	
17	4527	SISI TINTU P.P.	BSc Chemistry	
18	4534	TOMSY THOMAS	BSc Chemistry	
19	4557	VIDYA E.B.	BSc Chemistry	
20	4512	VIVEK V. SHENOY	BSc Chemistry	
21	4507	ABILASH R.S.	BSc Chemistry	
22	4501	ABINAS V.A.	BSc Chemistry	
23	4511	AJAY GOPAL	BSc Chemistry	
24	4541	AKHILA THANKACHAN	BSc Chemistry	
25	4504	AMAL DEV S.A.	BSc Chemistry	c
25	4538	ANITTA M.K.	BSc Chemistry	
20	4513	ANJU P. ASHOKAN	BSc Chemistry	
27	4518	ANJU SIVADAS	BSc Chemistry	
28	4516	ASHNA POLY	BSc Chemistry	
30	4524	JESLY JOHNY	BSc Chemistry	
31	4555	JINU T. JOSEPH	BSc Chemistry	
32	4529	MANJUSHA V.M.	BSc Chemistry	
33	4503	NIPIN SEBASTIAN	BSc Chemistry	
34	4521	RESHMA VIYAJAN	BSc Chemistry	
35	4542	RESHMI KARAMEL	BSc Chemistry	
	AEAE	RIYA RAILI	DG- CL	

37	4533	ROSHIN JOSEPH	BSc Chemistry	-
38	4556	SHAFINA P.	BSc Chemistry	/
39	4548	SOUMYA SURESH	BSc Chemistry	/
40	4543	TISHA ROY K.	BSc Chemistry	
41	4340	AGNEETHA JOHN	BSc Maths	
42	4314	RIFI PHILIP	BSc Maths	
45	4328	DIYA SABU MALAYIL	BSc Maths	/
46	4321	DORA THOMAS	BSc Maths	/
47	4336	EVILIN BRIGITHA WILSON	BSc Maths	- /
48	4305	FASALUDHEEN BASHEER	BSc Maths	/
49	4333	K. JEENU JOY	BSc Maths	1
50	4323	MENNY M.N.	BSc Maths	
51	4316	NAJIYA K.Z.	BSc Maths	~
52	4304	PRINCE P.	BSc Maths	~
53	4318	PYARY C.H.	BSc Maths	6
54	4324	ROSEMARY M.B.	BSc Maths	1
55	4326	SARANYA B, MENON	BSc Maths	
56	4337	TEENU CHACKO	BSc Maths	
57	4302	ABRAHAM VARGHESE	BSc Maths	
58	4339	AMRUTHA P.R.	BSc Maths	
59	4320	ANISHA JOHN	BSc Maths	C
60	4342	ANU JOSEPH	BSc Maths	0
61	4327	ARYA G. KUMAR	BSc Maths	
62	4338	ASIYA M.	BSc Maths	
63	4322	GREESHMA JOSEPH	BSc Maths	
64	4311	KRISHNA SAGAR N.P.	BSc Maths	~
65	4335	MARIA K.J.	BSc Maths	~
66	4310	MIDHUN A.M.	BSc Maths	

Dr. Thommadian Xarior.

CS Scanned with CamScanner

.

•

.

.